Krav Maga Grading System

Book a free trial


In Krav Maga there are three categories in the grading system.  Defender, Advanced and Expert. Within each category there are 5 levels. With regular training it's possible to attend a grading every 6 months for the Defender levels.


Defender 1 - 5

The Defender Levels of Krav Maga are the core of the system. You all learn how to defend against the most common attacks, as well as building on your fighting skills and learning how to avoid a situation or what to do after a confrontation.


You are eligible to move into the Advanced program 6 months after completing your D5 grade. More advanced skills are taught at A level, including dealing with more complicated situations. You are expected to have a full understanding of all the Defender grades and continue to keep those skills at a high level whilst you progress through the Fighter program.

Krav Maga Grading System

Expert 1 - 5

Expert Grades are held by very experienced instructors who have a complete understanding of Krav Maga, after passing the coveted Expert Test. E Levels are normally also qualified to teach in more specialist areas such as the Military, Law Enforcement or Security Sector. You can take your Expert Level exam 1 year after passing your Fighter Level 5.


Try Krav Maga for yourself by booking a free trial class. We’ll guide you through the class so you can understand what training Krav Maga can do for you.